Become Accredited

Standards for Accreditation School Edition 2021

The Middle States Association Commissions on Elementary and Secondary Schools officially adopted new accreditation standards in 2021 that help streamline the accreditation process and make it even more meaningful and relevant to today’s educational environment.

The new “Standards for Accreditation School Edition 2021” will be in effect for all schools and school systems starting the self-study period in spring 2022 and thereafter. The standards can be accessed here.

These new standards were thoughtfully researched and designed over the past two years by Middle States staff with involvement and input from commissioners, visiting team leaders and volunteers. We also consulted with educators within our member schools, who have achieved accreditation and have a deep understanding of, and appreciation for, the Middle States process.

In addition, we conducted a pilot of the new standards in more than 12 schools, here in the United States and abroad. The pilot enabled us to further refine the standards to ensure they meet the unique needs of our diverse membership. We are deeply grateful to the following pilot schools for their contributions:

Academia San Ignacio de Loyola, San Juan, PR
American International School in Egypt (The), Egypt
Archbishop Molloy High School, Briarwood, NY
Caravel Academy, Bear, DE
Carol Morgan School, Dominican Republic
Catasauqua High School, Northampton, PA
Colegio Ponceno, Coto Laurel, PR
Colegio San Ignacio de Loyola, San Juan, PR
Deron School of New Jersey, Inc. (The), Union, NJ
Pearson Online Academy, Columbia, MD
Saint Joan of Arc, Hummelstown, PA
Seton Catholic School, Meadville, PA
Saint Raymond Academy for Girls, Bronx, NY